Despite the size of our rule book, there isn’t a rule that specifically addresses every possible situation. I really don’t think anyone actually would want a rule book that did that because becoming an RO would become a multi-year intensive law school type course. No thanks. In large part we depend on common sense to get through life and our sport is much the same; we are expected to utilize some common sense with stage designs, setup and even during competition. Alas, in the words of François-Marie Arouet, better known to most by his nom de plume, Voltaire, “Common sense is not so common.”[Read more…] about It’s ‘Legal’, But Should You?
Archives for July 2020
We have added a new feature to the NROI blog called Rules FAQ. Yes, it’s a collection of questions we get asked, you guessed it, frequently. Many of these are from emails, some are from conversations, and others from observations. These are usually short questions that don’t require a whole blog post to answer.[Read more…] about NROI Blog Rules FAQs
We have all done it, some more than others. We have read a rule and then tried to parse it down to every single word in the process of understanding it. And sometimes that makes folks second guess what the rule actually means, or makes a rule mean what they want or think it should mean. Stop it![Read more…] about Otherthinking the rules
USPSA rules have several allowances for differently abled competitors to play our game, but on occasion a person is physically unable to comply with the design elements of a stage. That’s when the Special Penalty comes into play.[Read more…] about Special Penalty, 10.2.10
In the 2020 rulebook, some changes were made to section 9.9 that changed how certain activated targets are scored if the target is never activated. We wanted to see how many folks noticed the change and as a result asked the following Question of the Month: The Max Trap in the picture is activated by a stomp pad. The competitor shoots the target putting two hits in the upper A-zone and never activates it. How do you score the target?[Read more…] about Activating activators
USPSA is pleased to announce that the ninth video in the Practiscore Training series is now available on the USPSA website. This installment covers how to correctly enter a classifier re-entry. Not a reshoot required by the rules, but the single, same division, optional reshoot that a competitor can do on the classifier for a better score.[Read more…] about Classifier re-entries