Yes, some of the Questions of the Month are inspired by things we have seen at matches, or from discussions on forums. The November question was inspired by both: A Production competitor with a selective action pistol starts the COF with the hammer back and the safety on. What is the call by the RO?[Read more…] about Hammer time
Question of the Month Results
The October Question of the Month was “A long course has a shooting position where more than 8 shots are available. Is this a legal stage?” Thankfully, most of you got this one right. Although enough of you got it wrong that we should take a deeper look into this situation to ensure we are all on the same page.[Read more…] about Shot Per View
For our September Question of the Month we asked: During a Level I USPSA Competition Rules match, where a competitor is shooting a handgun division and PCC, is it legal for the competitor to wear the handgun while shooting the stage with a PCC?[Read more…] about Wearing Multiple Guns
We get a lot of questions about the legality of thumb rests in the different USPSA divisions, so for the August Question of the Month, we asked which divisions allow thumb rests. A thumb rest is a device that is attached to the frame with the purpose of reducing recoil.[Read more…] about Is that thumb rest legal?
Moving targets, ones that remain visible at rest or disappear after movement, are an easy way to add a challenge to any stage design. And when a competitor activates the targets per the WSB, then there usually isn’t a problem….other than some possible misses. But, what happens when a competitor fails to activate a moving target? The July Question of the Month asked: What is the penalty for not activating a disappearing target before the last shot?[Read more…] about Moving targets and activation
For the month of June, we asked a simple true or false question about competitor belts: A competitor’s belt must be secured at the waist with three belt loops. The results were surprising, the majority was actually incorrect this time. The correct answer is “False”.[Read more…] about When is a belt securely fixed?
You see it at matches all the time, the lone no-shoot placed on a wall in hopes of preventing the needless perforation of the wall edge with holes. But, is there a proper way to use a no-shoot on a wall edge? That brings us to the May Question of the Month: When using a no-shoot on a wall, can you bend the no-shoot around the wall edge?[Read more…] about Legal No-Shoot Presentation
The April question of the month was: Are IWB/AIWB holsters allowed in USPSA Competition Rules matches? For those of you asking what IWB means, it stands for “inside the waistband,” which is what a lot of people use for concealed carry. AIWB is just the abbreviation for “appendix inside the waistband” and refers to the location of where the holster is carried. So are these holsters legal in USPSA? Survey says:[Read more…] about Are IWB/AIWB holsters legal?