• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

NROI.ORG

USPSA - National Range Officers Institute

  • NROI Tips
  • Blog Archive
  • Resources
    • Templates and Other Files
    • From the USPSA Magazine
    • Seminars and Courses
    • Policies and Guidelines
    • NROI Programs
    • NROI Forms
    • Junior Endorsement Form
    • Manufacturer Forms
    • RMI Policy Documents
  • Rules
    • Rules FAQs
    • USPSA Rules
    • SCSA Rules
    • Rulebook Use Video
  • About
    • About the Blog
    • About NROI
  • Contact Us

Sweeping changes for PCC

April 3, 2025 by Jodi Humann

Okay, don’t panic! We are not making any changes to the division equipment rules for PCC. But we did change a bit in regards to sweeping when it comes to PCC. Let’s see how many people noticed the rule change in this Question of the Month.

A competitor is carrying a flagged and uncased PCC, muzzle down, between stages and is constantly sweeping his lower extremities. When you see this as the RO, what do you do?

Prior to the release of the January 2025 rulebook, if you swept anyone with the muzzle of a PCC during or outside a COF, whether loaded or not, even if a chamber flag is inserted, it was a DQ. While that rule still exists (see 10.5.5.2), we have added a second sentence to 10.5.5.2 that has an exception for when flagged PCCs are carried muzzle down outside a COF: “Exception – If carried muzzle-down outside the course of fire, the PCC competitor’s lower extremities are exempt from this provided the PCC is unloaded and flagged.” This means if you are carrying your flagged PCC, muzzle down between stages you can sweep your own feet and legs, but you cannot sweep anyone else’s feet and legs. If you do, it’s a DQ for unsafe gun handling.

Now that we have learned about the rule change, let’s go back to the poll results. About 55% of you noticed the rule change and answered it correctly with “Nothing.” Thanks for keeping up on the rule changes. The rest of you now know about the rule update! If the competitor had been missing a chamber flag, then escorting him to the safety area to get one inserted would have been appropriate.

Make sure to cast your vote in the current Question of the Month!

Have Questions?

If you have questions about this post, please ask via the blog Contact Form or send an email to rules@uspsa.org.

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

Primary Sidebar

Recent Posts

  • Fixed Time WSBs
  • Fixed Time vs. Virginia Count
  • Make Ready vs Start Position
  • The hard cover edge
  • Staying in your lane

Quick Links

  • From the USPSA Magazine
  • Nats Staff Info
  • NROI Blog Archive
  • NROI Podcast
  • NROI Tips
  • Rules FAQs
  • Templates and Other Files
  • USPSA Rules History

Subscribe

Sign-up for email notifications when new posts are added
Loading

Copyright © 2025 · Infinity Pro on Genesis Framework · WordPress · Log in