Usually, all cardboard targets on a stage require the same number of scoring hits. There might be a rare Classifier stage that has a different number of required hits on a target or two, but can a stage designer do something different? The February Question of the Month asked: Can the WSB for a single COF specify a different number of hits to be scored for certain targets in the COF? e.g., The best one hit on T1, best two hits on T2, best 3 hits on T3, etc.
[Read more…] about Hits per TargetQuestion of the Month Results
Facing Downrange
For the start of 2020, we tried a picture based Question of the Month which asked: Which competitor is NOT facing downrange?
[Read more…] about Facing DownrangeDistance from belt
What happens when a competitor’s pistol is too far away from their belt when holstered? We explored this in the December Question of the Month: During a course of fire (COF) an Open shooter’s pistol grip is 4 inches away from his inner belt when holstered. What is your call?
[Read more…] about Distance from beltHammer time
Yes, some of the Questions of the Month are inspired by things we have seen at matches, or from discussions on forums. The November question was inspired by both: A Production competitor with a selective action pistol starts the COF with the hammer back and the safety on. What is the call by the RO?
[Read more…] about Hammer timeShot Per View
The October Question of the Month was “A long course has a shooting position where more than 8 shots are available. Is this a legal stage?” Thankfully, most of you got this one right. Although enough of you got it wrong that we should take a deeper look into this situation to ensure we are all on the same page.
[Read more…] about Shot Per ViewWearing Multiple Guns
For our September Question of the Month we asked: During a Level I USPSA Competition Rules match, where a competitor is shooting a handgun division and PCC, is it legal for the competitor to wear the handgun while shooting the stage with a PCC?
[Read more…] about Wearing Multiple GunsIs that thumb rest legal?
We get a lot of questions about the legality of thumb rests in the different USPSA divisions, so for the August Question of the Month, we asked which divisions allow thumb rests. A thumb rest is a device that is attached to the frame with the purpose of reducing recoil.
[Read more…] about Is that thumb rest legal?Moving targets and activation
Moving targets, ones that remain visible at rest or disappear after movement, are an easy way to add a challenge to any stage design. And when a competitor activates the targets per the WSB, then there usually isn’t a problem….other than some possible misses. But, what happens when a competitor fails to activate a moving target? The July Question of the Month asked: What is the penalty for not activating a disappearing target before the last shot?
[Read more…] about Moving targets and activation