• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

NROI.ORG

USPSA - National Range Officers Institute

  • NROI Tips
  • Blog Archive
  • Resources
    • Templates and Other Files
    • From the USPSA Magazine
    • Seminars and Courses
    • Policies and Guidelines
    • NROI Programs
    • NROI Forms
    • Junior Endorsement Form
    • Manufacturer Forms
    • RMI Policy Documents
  • Rules
    • Rules FAQs
    • USPSA Rules
    • SCSA Rules
    • Rulebook Use Video
  • About
    • About the Blog
    • About NROI
  • Contact Us

Jodi Humann

Is that a laser trainer in your chamber?

May 6, 2021 by Jodi Humann

Or are you just excited to shoot the stage? With the ammo shortage, I am sure everyone is getting more dry fire time, and many people use laser trainers or snap caps. But what if this happens at the match: “You are the RO and you give the competitor the ‘Make Ready’ command. The competitor inserts a magazine, racks the slide, but can’t seem to get a round to chamber. The competitor drops the magazine and locks back the slide. You see a laser trainer cartridge in the chamber. What is your call as the RO?”

[Read more…] about Is that a laser trainer in your chamber?

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

Start position equity

April 8, 2021 by Jodi Humann

Even though PCC is now a normal part of USPSA Competition matches, we still get the occasional questions about PCC start positions and ready conditions in relation to handgun divisions. Yes, PCC competitors only compete against other PCC competitors, but that doesn’t mean that the PCC start position and ready condition can be completely different than the handgun divisions.

[Read more…] about Start position equity

Filed Under: Stage Design

Which hit was it?

April 1, 2021 by Jodi Humann

For this Question of the Month we posed a scoring question: The RO watches the shooter engage the target in the picture and sees the first shot travel through the mesh wall on the left, and the subsequent two shots clear the wall edge. The RO did not see where the first shot hit the target, nor is there evidence on the target to determine which shot went through the mesh. The target has three holes: one Alpha and two Charlie. How do you score the target?

[Read more…] about Which hit was it?

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

Adding stages to the Form C

March 25, 2021 by Jodi Humann

USPSA uses an online Form C for major matches. Any Level II or higher match needs to have a Form C submitted and submit the stage designs for approval. Level II matches need the stages approved one month before the match and Level III matches need stage approval two months before the match.

[Read more…] about Adding stages to the Form C

Filed Under: Match Directors

Classifier WSBs in PractiScore

March 18, 2021 by Jodi Humann

Did you know that the preset templates for USPSA and SCSA classifier stages in the PractiScore App have the stage diagram and written stage briefing already added to the stage? Do you know how to read the WSB from the tablet?

[Read more…] about Classifier WSBs in PractiScore

Filed Under: News & Announcements Tagged With: practiscore

More Virginia Count

March 4, 2021 by Jodi Humann

In honor of February we decided to pose another Virginia Count based Question of the Month since we know that some of you love Virginia Count so much. Before we discuss how many penalties and for what, let’s review the scenario.

[Read more…] about More Virginia Count

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

Come try something new

February 11, 2021 by Jodi Humann

USPSA is hosting a different kind of multigun match this year instead of the usual shotgun, rifle, and pistol match. In early June, the first ever USPSA 2-Gun PCC/Pistol Nationals will be held at CMP Marksmanship Park in Talladega, AL (registration opens March 1). Have you never shot a multigun match before, but do shoot PCC and handgun division in USPSA Competition matches? Then you should come out and join us! Can’t make it to Alabama? Then why not set up a 2-gun match at your home club?

[Read more…] about Come try something new

Filed Under: Multigun

Is that safety on?

February 4, 2021 by Jodi Humann

“A competitor holsters their loaded single action pistol with the safety off, but flicks the safety on before removing their hand from the pistol. What is your call?” I won’t lie. The results of this Question of the Month have us a bit stunned. We didn’t think that this question would have results like this:

[Read more…] about Is that safety on?

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

  • « Go to Previous Page
  • Page 1
  • Interim pages omitted …
  • Page 16
  • Page 17
  • Page 18
  • Page 19
  • Page 20
  • Interim pages omitted …
  • Page 26
  • Go to Next Page »

Primary Sidebar

Recent Posts

  • Popper problem prevention
  • Why follow the rules?
  • Why we appreciate our officials
  • You didn’t enter the shooting area
  • Gotta Go!

Quick Links

  • From the USPSA Magazine
  • Nats Staff Info
  • NROI Blog Archive
  • NROI Podcast
  • NROI Tips
  • Rules FAQs
  • Templates and Other Files
  • USPSA Rules History

Subscribe

Sign-up for email notifications when new posts are added
Loading

Copyright © 2025 · Infinity Pro on Genesis Framework · WordPress · Log in