“The WSB says, starting anywhere outside shooting area, hands at side. Is it legal to start standing on fault line? I cannot reconcile how it can be both ways if so. You can stand on line while shooting as long as not touching outside. So it appears the fault line would be part of the shooting area. If it is, then how can you start standing on the fault line when WSB says start outside.”
There are two parts to this answer. First, the WSB must be written specifically, i.e., if the start position is to be completely, both feet outside, the shooting area, it needs to say that specifically, with those words. Best practice would be to place marks or something like a start stick to indicate where the competitor is to stand. Second, out is out, and in is in. That sounds kind of glib, but it’s a fact. If you can be penalized for firing a shot with your feet outside the fault lines, then you are out, even if one foot is standing on the fault line in a legal position. That’s why it’s important to be specific. There are a number of rules that address foot faults, and a couple that specifically address both feet out, even for a start position.
Bottom line, yes, it’s legal to start standing on a fault line if you are still “out” of the shooting area, unless the WSB specifically states something similar to what I wrote.