• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

NROI.ORG

USPSA - National Range Officers Institute

  • NROI Tips
  • Blog Archive
  • Resources
    • Templates and Other Files
    • Seminars and Courses
    • Policies and Guidelines
    • NROI Programs
    • NROI Forms
    • Junior Endorsement Form
    • Manufacturer Forms
  • Rules
    • Rules FAQs
    • USPSA Rules
    • SCSA Rules
    • Rulebook Use Video
  • About
    • About the Blog
    • About NROI
  • Contact Us

Shot after hitting stop plate

July 22, 2020 by Troy McManus

“At a recent match a competitor was shooting “Pendulum”. On one string he missed a plate, hit the stop plate, then hit the previously missed plate and hit the stop plate again. His time was recorded as of the last shot fired (no question there; rule 6.2.2) but there was disagreement as to whether or not he should have received a penalty for a missed plate. Are misses “locked in” when the stop plate is hit the first time?”

The competitor’s time as of his last shot should be recorded, and a miss penalty added.  There is no provision in the rules for going back and hitting a plate that was missed prior to shooting the stop plate.  Once the stop plate is hit, any plate not hit is counted as a miss, regardless of the competitor’s subsequent actions.  See rule 6.3 and 6.2.2 in the SCSA rules.

Primary Sidebar

Recent Posts

  • NROI Tips – Target Construction
  • Just Another Mag Beyond the Wall
  • The malfunction conundrum
  • Squib Confusion?
  • It’s a small investment compared to everything else

Quick Links

  • NROI Blog Archive
  • NROI Tips
  • Rules FAQs
  • Templates and Other Files

Subscribe

Sign-up for email notifications when new posts are added
Loading

Copyright © 2021 · Infinity Pro on Genesis Framework · WordPress · Log in