Scoring targets properly is one of the key jobs of all range officials, however occasionally there is a target array setup that makes the RO overthink and results in the incorrect call. For the September Question of the Month, we took a picture of a target setup that is often miscalled and asked, “How do you score these targets?”
In this scenario, the upper target is not the one in question. Everyone has no problem scoring a no-shoot overlaying a scoring target, especially when the no-shoot hit is squarely in the no-shoot and not near the edge. The upper target is scored alpha, mike, no-shoot.
It is the lower target that sometimes throws people off. The good news is that over 50% of the answers were correct. The lower target is scored alpha, charlie, no-shoot. But it is a bit concerning that that other half of the answers didn’t give the competitor the no-shoot he/she earned. Is it because the scoring target is on top of the no-shoot? Is it because the non-scoring border is confusing?
First, let’s look at the rule that deals with overlapping targets (22.214.171.124.1) which states that the scoring area of scoring targets and no-shoots are impenetrable and that: “Whenever two targets (scoring and/or no-shoots) are in direct contact where one target directly overlaps part of another target, the area of the ‘under’ target which is directly covered by the scoring area of the ‘over’ target and its perforations is deemed to be non-existent.”
Clear as mud, right? Here is picture to help define what the working parts are:
Notice that 126.96.36.199.1 says only the scoring area and the perforations, not the non-scoring border, are impenetrable. Which means that the hit on the lower target in the question, which touches the perforation, is on the C zone of the scoring target and the scoring zone of the no-shoot.
Let’s look a few hits on two different target layering situations. The first will be the no-shoot on top of the scoring target (left side) and the other is the scoring target on top of the no-shoot (right side).
Let’s start with the situation everyone is comfortable with, no-shoot on top of scoring target (left side). Those three hits score from left to right as no-shoot, charlie + no-shoot, and charlie. The middle hit touches the perf so it scores on both targets. The non-scoring border on the no-shoot doesn’t exist so the C-zone below that area is scorable when the hit touches the perf in addition to the no-shoot.
Now let’s look at the target layering that causes some confusion, the scoring target on top of the no-shoot (right side). In this case the three hits score from left to right as charlie, charlie + no-shoot, and no-shoot. The center hit touches the perf and the non-scoring border doesn’t exist so the scoring area of the no-shoot is available in addition to the C-zone on the scoring target. The same rules apply in both layering situations. Don’t overthink it and score the target properly.
And for those who voted that the lower target was alpha, bravo, check out the Scoring Zones section of Appendix B1. The B-zone went away in 2018. You can still use the remaining targets that have B-zones in matches, but they are scored as charlies. And when setting up stages in PractiScore, select the ‘Classic Targets’ option and there will be no B-zones when entering scores for the stages (see Part 8 of the PractiScore training videos on the USPSA site to learn how to setup a match).
Remember to visit the blog homepage to vote in the current Question of the Month.
If you have questions about this post, please ask via the blog Contact Form or send an email to email@example.com.