We had another picture based scoring question in February. This picture was actually taken at a RO seminar. How many of you got it right? Let’s find out!
[Read more…] about Is the bullet still in the hole?Question of the Month Results
When is an AD, an AD?
Our rulebook has a whole section that deals with disqualifications from accidental discharges, but when is it an AD and when is it not? Let’s take a closer look in this Question of the Month.
[Read more…] about When is an AD, an AD?Handling unrestored targets
Unrestored targets happen. Usually what happens is the person (let’s call him “Bob”) who has been taping the target is the on deck shooter and is doing his final walkthrough. Everyone assumes Bob is getting that target so no one else tapes it and the ROs forget to check the targets before starting Bob. As a result, Bob sees un-taped holes in the target he had previously been tending to. What should Bob do? What should the RO do? Let’s look more closely in this Question of the Month.
[Read more…] about Handling unrestored targetsOne of those is not like the other
No matter how much preparation with no-shoot/hard cover placement and sacrificial wall edges the stage builders make, it is inevitable that someone will hit the wall edges during the match. Walls are proof we can’t have anything nice on the gun range. But in addition to weakening the long term structural integrity of the walls, wall hits can provide some challenges for ROs in regard to scoring. Let’s discuss that more while looking at the results of this Question of the Month.
[Read more…] about One of those is not like the otherExtra Hits in Virginia Count
In Virginia Count and Fixed Time scored stages, the number of shots that can be fired is limited and as a result the number of hits on each target is also limited. Which means that Range Officers need to be counting the shots taken to apply the Extra Shot penalty and need to not Extra Hits on targets when scoring. But what if the Extra Hit is in the hard cover portion of a target or a no-shoot? Does it count as an Extra Hit? Let’s find out in this Question of the Month!
[Read more…] about Extra Hits in Virginia CountThe higher scoring zone
The September Question of the Month was a picture from an actual local match. Some of the ROs at the match did not agree with how the hit was scored. The target seemed straightforward to me, but if there is confusion it might be worth reviewing what the correct answer is.
[Read more…] about The higher scoring zoneThinking outside the box
The August Question of the Month was based on a question we received, and obviously needed some clarification based on the poll results. Let’s look more closely at where a competitor needs to be when the ‘Make ready’ command is given.
[Read more…] about Thinking outside the boxIs that trigger guard, triggering?
Some handguns have very spacious trigger guards. But do these trigger guards cause issues in regards to the definition of a legal holster? Let’s look at this in more detail in this Question of the Month.
[Read more…] about Is that trigger guard, triggering?