Often, my ideas for posts come from questions asked at matches. This particular question came up at two separate matches over the last couple weeks. What happens if a PCC competitor comes to the line without a chamber flag? We are not talking about someone who had a flag in and removed it, we are talking about a competitor who uncased a PCC and came directly to the line without a flag. What is the call? Both times it was brought up, the ROs thought it would be a DQ, but is it? Let’s look at what the rules say.[Read more…] about Where’s your chamber flag?
What to do if unpasted targets are noticed during the course of fire is one of the things that is often misunderstood by competitors and range officers, especially at local matches. Often at local matches, the competitor stops or the RO stops the competitor and a reshoot is issued after the target or targets are taped. But, that is the wrong thing to do and often leads to a painful learning experience for a competitor at a higher level match. Let’s look at what a competitor and RO should do, and not do, when they see an unpasted target during the course of fire.[Read more…] about Unpasted targets and you
Or are you just excited to shoot the stage? With the ammo shortage, I am sure everyone is getting more dry fire time, and many people use laser trainers or snap caps. But what if this happens at the match: “You are the RO and you give the competitor the ‘Make Ready’ command. The competitor inserts a magazine, racks the slide, but can’t seem to get a round to chamber. The competitor drops the magazine and locks back the slide. You see a laser trainer cartridge in the chamber. What is your call as the RO?”[Read more…] about Is that a laser trainer in your chamber?
Even though PCC is now a normal part of USPSA Competition matches, we still get the occasional questions about PCC start positions and ready conditions in relation to handgun divisions. Yes, PCC competitors only compete against other PCC competitors, but that doesn’t mean that the PCC start position and ready condition can be completely different than the handgun divisions.[Read more…] about Start position equity
For this Question of the Month we posed a scoring question: The RO watches the shooter engage the target in the picture and sees the first shot travel through the mesh wall on the left, and the subsequent two shots clear the wall edge. The RO did not see where the first shot hit the target, nor is there evidence on the target to determine which shot went through the mesh. The target has three holes: one Alpha and two Charlie. How do you score the target?[Read more…] about Which hit was it?
USPSA uses an online Form C for major matches. Any Level II or higher match needs to have a Form C submitted and submit the stage designs for approval. Level II matches need the stages approved one month before the match and Level III matches need stage approval two months before the match.[Read more…] about Adding stages to the Form C
Did you know that the preset templates for USPSA and SCSA classifier stages in the PractiScore App have the stage diagram and written stage briefing already added to the stage? Do you know how to read the WSB from the tablet?[Read more…] about Classifier WSBs in PractiScore
In honor of February we decided to pose another Virginia Count based Question of the Month since we know that some of you love Virginia Count so much. Before we discuss how many penalties and for what, let’s review the scenario.[Read more…] about More Virginia Count