We get asked a lot about what happens when a shooter starts outside the shooting area and forgets to step into the shooting area before shooting. Is it a per shot or per occurrence penalty? In the January 2019 version of the Competition Rules we added rule 10.2.1.3. That sub-rule addresses this scenario specifically and says penalties are per 10.2.1 and 10.2.1.1. Which means that it is a per occurrence penalty (10.2.1) unless significant advantage has been gained (10.2.1.1). Very rarely the difference from taking the shots just outside the shooting area versus inside the shooting area is a significant advantage, so usually it’s a per occurrence penalty. When in doubt, consult the Range Master for the match.