• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

NROI.ORG

USPSA - National Range Officers Institute

  • NROI Tips
  • Blog Archive
  • Resources
    • Templates and Other Files
    • From the USPSA Magazine
    • Seminars and Courses
    • Policies and Guidelines
    • NROI Programs
    • NROI Forms
    • Junior Endorsement Form
    • Manufacturer Forms
    • RMI Policy Documents
  • Rules
    • Rules FAQs
    • USPSA Rules
    • SCSA Rules
    • Rulebook Use Video
  • About
    • About the Blog
    • About NROI
  • Contact Us

Extra Hits in Virginia Count

November 7, 2024 by Jodi Humann

In Virginia Count and Fixed Time scored stages, the number of shots that can be fired is limited and as a result the number of hits on each target is also limited. Which means that Range Officers need to be counting the shots taken to apply the Extra Shot penalty and need to not Extra Hits on targets when scoring. But what if the Extra Hit is in the hard cover portion of a target or a no-shoot? Does it count as an Extra Hit? Let’s find out in this Question of the Month!

During a Virginia Count scored stage, where the best 2 hits per target score, a competitor fires three shots at a target with hard cover. Two hits are in the A-zone and the other hit is completely in the hard cover. The ROs applied the extra shot penalty before moving downrange to score. How would you score this target?

This question was inspired by an inquiry I got from a long time competitor. Since he didn’t know the answer, it made me wonder how many other folks didn’t know it. This is something we cover in the RO seminar, but since most of the stages shot at clubs are scored Comstock there just isn’t a lot of practice with the penalties that are unique to Virginia Count and Fixed Time.

This is an easy one to answer with a citation of rule 9.4.5.2: Extra hits (i.e. hits on the scoring area of scoring cardboard targets in excess of the total number specified in the stage), will each incur one procedural penalty. Note that hits on hard cover and/or no-shoots are not treated as Extra Hits.

I added the italics to stress the important sentence. In the situation from the question, since that third hit is completely in the hard cover, it is NOT an Extra Hit penalty. If there had been three hits in the scoring (brown cardboard) target, then it would have been an Extra Hit penalty.

Remember to cast your vote in the current Question of the Month!

Have Questions?

If you have questions about this post, please ask via the blog Contact Form or send an email to rules@uspsa.org.

Filed Under: Question of the Month Results

Primary Sidebar

Recent Posts

  • Fixed Time WSBs
  • Fixed Time vs. Virginia Count
  • Make Ready vs Start Position
  • The hard cover edge
  • Staying in your lane

Quick Links

  • From the USPSA Magazine
  • Nats Staff Info
  • NROI Blog Archive
  • NROI Podcast
  • NROI Tips
  • Rules FAQs
  • Templates and Other Files
  • USPSA Rules History

Subscribe

Sign-up for email notifications when new posts are added
Loading

Copyright © 2025 · Infinity Pro on Genesis Framework · WordPress · Log in