The scenario in question: CO shooter has magnet on front of belt, uses it to retain a magazine during the entire day, including at ‘Make ready.’ Between the ‘Standby’ and ‘If clear, hammer down and holster’ commands, the magnet is not used. However, sometimes the shooter uses the magnet at ‘Unload and show clear.’ Is there a violation prompting them to be bumped to Open?
Understanding division rules and when they apply is critical to this question. The course of fire begins with “Make Ready” (8.3.1) and ends with “Range Is Clear” (8.3.8). Almost all division rules listed in the appropriate appendices apply during the course of fire. See 22.214.171.124.
126.96.36.199 However, if a competitor fails to satisfy the equipment or other requirements of a declared handgun Division during a course of fire, the competitor will be placed in Open Division, if available, otherwise the competitor will shoot the match for no score. If a competitor fails to satisfy the equipment or other requirements for PCC or Open Division during the course of fire, he will shoot for no score.
A magnet can be on your belt for Production, Carry Optics, or Single Stack divisions, but it must be in the correct position, behind the point of the hip. If it’s on the front of the belt, during a course of fire, it’s a violation of division rules and a bump to Open.
Second, a magazine may be retained on the magnet, but not after Make Ready, and not before Range Is Clear. Where the other range commands come into play in your scenario makes no sense. Taking a magazine from a magnet, or having a magazine on a magnet at Make Ready is a bump to Open. Same thing applies when clearing the gun–you may not go to the magnet with a magazine until after Range is Clear.
If you have questions about this post, please ask via the blog Contact Form or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.