• Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

NROI.ORG

USPSA - National Range Officers Institute

  • NROI Tips
  • Blog Archive
  • Resources
    • Templates and Other Files
    • From the USPSA Magazine
    • Seminars and Courses
    • Policies and Guidelines
    • NROI Programs
    • NROI Forms
    • Junior Endorsement Form
    • Manufacturer Forms
    • RMI Policy Documents
  • Rules
    • Rules FAQs
    • USPSA Rules
    • SCSA Rules
    • Rulebook Use Video
  • About
    • About the Blog
    • About NROI
  • Contact Us

As long as the safety is on

June 30, 2022 by Jodi Humann

I think I said that phrase to almost every squad at 2-gun nationals in response to the question as to whether they could re-holster their loaded pistol during the stage. But this also applies to a couple situations in USPSA Competition matches as well. Let’s talk about those.

Q: Can I re-holster my pistol when I run uprange during a course of fire? Or during any course of fire?

A: Yes, as long as the pistol is in a safe condition. The stage procedure can not require a competitor to re-holster a handgun, but the competitor can choose to do so provided the handgun meets the conditions listed in 8.1 (see rule 8.2.5). What are the proper conditions? Either loaded with the safety on or hammer down (e.g. the same condition as when you holster a loaded pistol at Make Ready), or completely unloaded.

Q: The stage has a low port and the competitor needs both hands to get up, can the competitor set the firearm on the ground without penalty?

A: Yes, if the firearm is placed in a controlled manner (not dropped/thrown) and the firearm meets the conditions in 8.1 (see rule 8.2.5.1). Again, the safety needs to be engaged or hammer down on a loaded chamber or the firearm needs to be unloaded. And, never holster a pistol while laying on the ground because you will be breaking the 180 in the process (and that is a DQ).

Q: A competitor trips and falls but maintains control of their loaded firearm on the way down and doesn’t break any other safety rules. But, the safety isn’t engaged when the hand is removed from the firearm. Is that a DQ?

A: Yes, because the competitor placed the firearm in an unsafe manner during the course of fire (see second question and 8.2.5.1). And yes, it is not fun to administer these DQs.

Have Questions?

If you have questions about this post, please ask via the blog Contact Form or send an email to rules@uspsa.org.

Filed Under: Rules Q&A

Primary Sidebar

Recent Posts

  • Does that safety work?
  • Simplifying stacking
  • Did you do your function check?
  • Timer settings for Fixed Time
  • Fixed Time Frustration

Quick Links

  • From the USPSA Magazine
  • Nats Staff Info
  • NROI Blog Archive
  • NROI Podcast
  • NROI Tips
  • Rules FAQs
  • Templates and Other Files
  • USPSA Rules History

Subscribe

Sign-up for email notifications when new posts are added
Loading

Copyright © 2025 · Infinity Pro on Genesis Framework · WordPress · Log in