USPSA and NROI are teaming up with Shooting USA to produce a series of short videos that will cover a variety of rules related topics and other pointers that will help match directors, range officials, and competitors further understand our sport and produce quality matches.[Read more…] about Coming soon – NROI Tips
I will admit, it sometimes is hard to keep all the different division equipment rules straight, we do have eight divisions now. But fortunately, we have a rulebook that outlines the requirements for each one in Appendix D. Yeah, some of the divisions use a single page and others span numerous pages, but all the information is there…you just have to look.[Read more…] about Show me the ruling!
The April question of the month was: Are IWB/AIWB holsters allowed in USPSA Competition Rules matches? For those of you asking what IWB means, it stands for “inside the waistband,” which is what a lot of people use for concealed carry. AIWB is just the abbreviation for “appendix inside the waistband” and refers to the location of where the holster is carried. So are these holsters legal in USPSA? Survey says:[Read more…] about Are IWB/AIWB holsters legal?
The scenario in question: CO shooter has magnet on front of belt, uses it to retain a magazine during the entire day, including at ‘Make ready.’ Between the ‘Standby’ and ‘If clear, hammer down and holster’ commands, the magnet is not used. However, sometimes the shooter uses the magnet at ‘Unload and show clear.’ Is there a violation prompting them to be bumped to Open?[Read more…] about Magnet use in CO/PROD/SS
We see all sorts of walls in USPSA matches. In our sport, walls are used to obscure targets, control the competitor’s view of targets from other positions, to control competitor movement, and to define a shooting area. We see solid walls, see-through walls, walls that start on the ground, and walls that have gaps underneath. But what is considered a wall per the rules?[Read more…] about What makes a wall, a wall?
Here is a question that was submitted to this site: “Rule 8.7.1 does not specify what the penalty is for moving away more than one step from the make ready position while taking a sight picture. So a competitor steps up, shuffles 3 -4 steps over and takes a sight picture, I then move him back, BUT is there a penalty?”[Read more…] about Make Ready….Wait, get back here!
We are trying a new thing on nroi.org. We have added a poll to the homepage with a Question of the Month. The main purpose is to see where our USPSA members are with their rules knowledge, but also to hopefully expand their rules knowledge when we discuss the results the following month. For March, the questions was “What should a RO do when a popper that is hit does not fall during a course of fire?”[Read more…] about Pesky Poppers
Q: Are FTSA penalties supposed to be assessed per string or for the stage as a whole? For example, if a competitor suffers a stage-ending malfunction during the second string of a classifier, do they get FTSA penalties (because some targets were not shot at during the second string) or not (because the targets were all shot at at some point during the course of fire as a whole)?[Read more…] about FTSA/FTE in Multiple Strings